How Lib Dem MPs voted in the abortion debate

by Stephen Tall on May 21, 2008

55 Lib Dem MPs took part in last night’s crucial Commons vote on whether to reduce the current 24-week limit on abortions to 22 weeks (the closest vote of the night). In what was a free vote, a majority of the party’s MPs voted against any change to the current law. Here’s how they lined up:

The following 23 Lib Dem MPs voted for 22 weeks:

Baker, Norman
Barrett, John
Breed, Colin
Brooke, Annette
Burt, Lorely
Hancock, Mike
Horwood, Martin
Hughes, Simon
Hunter, Mark
Laws, David
Mulholland, Greg
Pugh, John
Reid, Alan
Rogerson, Dan
Rowen, Paul
Russell, Bob
Stunell, Andrew
Teather, Sarah
Webb, Steve
Williams, Mark
Williams, Roger
Willis, Phil
Younger-Ross, Richard

The following 32 Lib Dem MPs voted against 22 weeks:

Alexander, Danny
Brake, Tom
Bruce, Malcolm
Burstow, Paul
Campbell, Menzies
Carmichael, Alistair
Clegg, Nick
Davey, Edward
Featherstone, Lynne
Foster, Don
George, Andrew
Gidley, Sandra
Goldsworthy, Julia
Harris, Evan
Harvey, Nick
Hemming, John
Holmes, Paul
Howarth, David
Huhne, Chris
Keetch, Paul
Kramer, Susan
Lamb, Norman
Leech, John
Moore, Michael
Opik, Lembit
Rennie, Willie
Smith, Robert
Swinson, Jo
Taylor, Matthew
Thurso, John
Williams, Stephen
Willott, Jenny