The complete and utter list of Lib Dem MPs’ first tweets

by Stephen Tall on March 21, 2014

Twitter logoThere are currently 45 Lib Dem MPs on Twitter, according to this list curated by Mark Pack. Thanks to Twitter’s #FirstTweet website gizmo we can see the first words of wisdom the party’s elected representatives chose to offer the world. I mean, who wouldn’t want to?

Read this list and you’ll discover who the first Lib Dem MP to tweet was*, who talked about themselves in the third person, and which former cabinet minister asked in 2009, “Wondering if any bankers actually understand what is going on.” And, riddle me this, how did Greg Mulholland’s first tweet manage to be a re-tweet of himself?

* Duncan Hames (May 2007), though he wasn’t an MP at the time; Lynne Featherstone was the first elected Lib Dem MP to tweet (March 2008).

Here’s the complete list…

Danny Alexander (@dannyalexander)

Norman Baker (@NormanBakerMP) (re-tweeted a tweet he’s mentioned in)

Gordon Birtwistle (@GBirtwistle_MP)

Tom Brake (@thomasbrake)

Annette Brooke (@Annette4MDNP)

Malcolm Bruce (@malcolmbruce)

Paul Burstow (@PaulBurstow)

Lorely Burt (@LorelyBurt)

Vince Cable (@vincecable)

Ming Campbell (@MingCampbellMP)

Alistair Carmichael (@acarmichaelmp)

Nick Clegg (@nick_clegg)

Mike Crockart (@CrockartMP)

Ed Davey (@EdwardDaveyMP)

Tim Farron (@timfarron)

Lynne Featherstone (@lfeatherstone)

Don Foster (@DonFosterMP)

Andrew George (@AndrewGeorgeLD)

Stephen Gilbert (@stephen_gilbert)

Duncan Hames (@duncanhames)

Nick Harvey (@NickHarveyND)

David Heath (@DavidHeathMP)

John Hemming (@johnhemmingmp)

Martin Horwood (@MartinChelt)

Simon Hughes (@SimonHughesMP)

Mark Hunter (@markhuntermp)

Julian Huppert (@julianhuppert)

Charles Kennedy (@charles_kennedy)

Norman Lamb (@normanlamb)

John Leech (@johnleechmcr)

Michael Moore (@MichaelMooreMP)

Greg Mulholland (@GregMulholland1)

Tessa Munt (@tessamunt)

John Pugh (@johnpughmp)

Adrian Sanders (@adriansandersmp)

Ian Swales (@iswales)

Jo Swinson (@joswinson)

Mike Thornton (@Mike4Eastleigh)

David Ward (@DavidWardMP)

Steve Webb (@stevewebb1)

Mark Williams (@mark4ceredigion)

Roger Williams (@RogerWilliamsLD)

Stephen Williams (@swilliamsmp)

Jenny Willott (@JennyWillott)

Simon Wright (@SimonWrightMP)

* Stephen Tall is Co-Editor of Liberal Democrat Voice, and editor of the 2013 publication, The Coalition and Beyond: Liberal Reforms for the Decade Ahead. He is also a Research Associate for the liberal think-tank CentreForum and writes at his own site, The Collected Stephen Tall.

Leave your comment


Required. Not published.

If you have one.