+++ Government defeated on Syria motion by 13 votes

by Stephen Tall on August 29, 2013

The Coalition Government’s motion backing a strong humanitarian response “which may include military action” has just been DEFEATED in the House of Commons by 13 votes (285 votes against to 272 in favour).

Responding, David Cameron has said he “gets” the will of the House.

Earlier, Labour’s amendment – urging further evidence of the Assad regime’s responsibility for chemical attacks – was defeated by 112 votes.

No official list yet, but here’s an *unconfirmed list* of Lib Dem MPs thought to have abstained or voted against the Government:

Gordon Birtwhistle
Malcolm Bruce
Paul Burstow
Tim Farron
Andrew George
Julian Huppert
John Pugh
Ian Swales
Sarah Teather
Roger Williams
(David Ward)

* Stephen Tall is Co-Editor of Liberal Democrat Voice, and editor of the 2013 publication, The Coalition and Beyond: Liberal Reforms for the Decade Ahead. He is also a Research Associate for the liberal think-tank CentreForum and writes at his own site, The Collected Stephen Tall.

Leave your comment


Required. Not published.

If you have one.