Party members vote Vince Cable Lib Dem Minister of the Year (again)

by Stephen Tall on December 27, 2012

Lib Dem Voice polled our members-only forum recently to discover what Lib Dem members think of various political issues, the Coalition, and the performance of key party figures. Over 500 party members have responded, and we’re publishing the full results.

Vince, Ed and Michael: the Lib Dems’ top trio in government

Vince Cable smiling - Some rights reserved by Liberal DemocratsLDV asked: In your opinion, which Lib Dem government minister has had the best year?

This question allowed an unprompted, free-text response, which c.450 of our respondents rose to. And here’s what you told us:

    1. Vince Cable (144)
    2. Ed Davey (70)
    3. Michael Moore (42)
    4. Steve Webb (35)
    =5. Danny Alexander (30)
    =5. Nick Clegg (30)
    7. Lynne Featherstone (22)
    8. Norman Lamb (19)
    9. David Laws (16)
    10. Norman Baker (12)
    11. Jo Swinson (11)
    12. Jeremy Browne (10)
    =13. Nick Harvey (5)
    =13. Sarah Teather (5)

    (Note: only Lib Dem ministers who scored 5+ votes are mentioned here.)

Vince topped this same poll last year, but by a narrower margin. In 2012, the Lib Dem business secretary scored more than twice as many votes as his nearest runner-up, Ed Davey. It was another good 12 months for the sage of Twickenham. Even the Lib Dem-phobic Daily Mirror championed ‘Plan V’ while many of the other papers chattered about the prospect of him eventually succeeding Nick Clegg (you can see what I thought of that prospect here).

One of last year’s runners-up to Vince was Chris Huhne: this year it’s his replacement as energy secretary Ed Davey. He’s had a busy year: fighting for renewable energy in the teeth of George Osborne’s opposition (and that of his deputy John Hayes) and producing an energy bill designed to decarbonise the economy while protecting consumers’ fuel bill in the medium/long-term.

And then in bronze medal position is Michael Moore, the Lib Dem scottish secretary rightly lauded for his pivotal role negotiating the Edinburgh Agreement that secured Scotland’s right to an in/out independence vote in 2014 (and indeed for giving 16/17 year-olds the right to vote).

Danny Alexander, who last year came second, again poll strongly — tying this year with Nick Clegg — but is edged into fifth place by the party’s pensions maestro Steve Webb.

Tomorrow we publish the results of which Lib Dem minister party members think has had the worst year…

  • Over 1,200 Lib Dem paid-up party members are registered with Over 500 responded to the latest survey, which was conducted between 7th and 11th December.
  • Please note: we make no claims that the survey is fully representative of the Lib Dem membership as a whole. However,’s surveys are the largest independent samples of the views of Lib Dem members across the country, and have in the past offered accurate guides to what party members think.
  • For further information on the reliability/credibility of our surveys, please refer to FAQs: Are the Liberal Democrat Voice surveys of party members accurate? and polling expert Anthony Wells’ verdict, On that poll of Lib Dem members.
  • The full archive of our members’ surveys can be viewed at
  • * Stephen Tall is Co-Editor of Liberal Democrat Voice, a Research Associate for the liberal think-tank CentreForum, and also writes at his own site, The Collected Stephen Tall.


    New from me > Party members vote Vince Cable Lib Dem Minister of the Year (again)

    by Stephen Tall on December 27, 2012 at 8:25 pm. Reply #

    RT @stephentall New from me > Party members vote Vince Cable Lib Dem Minister of the Year (again)

    by HouseofTwitsLib on December 27, 2012 at 8:37 pm. Reply #

    Party members vote Vince Cable Lib Dem Minister of the Year (again)

    by BexhillBattleLibDems on December 28, 2012 at 12:44 am. Reply #

    Leave your comment


    Required. Not published.

    If you have one.