The 100-plus Labour MPs publicly opposing electoral reform

by Stephen Tall on December 30, 2010

Poor Ed Miliband. In his first speech to the Labour party conference he tried his valiant best to show that Labour had changed, that it was a party which could re-claim the progressive liberalism it so happily junked in the Blair/Brown years.

No more ID cards, detention without trial, control orders etc — so said Ed. And yes to electoral reform in the shape of the alternative vote — so said Ed.

Unfortunately for Ed, not many of his MPs are listening to him. Today, the No2AV campaign proudly announced that over 100 of Labour’s 257 MPs would be opposing electoral reform in the May referendum: you can read the list here, re-printed for the benefit of posterity below.

It’s only fair to note that Ed is not totally alone in the Labour party in continuing to back electoral reform — there is a Labour Yes! campaign here, and eight of the shadow cabinet are reported to favour sticking with their manifesto promise to introduce the alternative vote. But the lukewarmness of the Labour echelons show how shallow is their commitment to reforming the political system.

Here is the list of Labour MPs who believe the voters shouldn’t enjoy the choice of ranking their candidates in order of preference (except when it comes to Labour leadership elections, of course: that’s totally different):

    David Anderson, Blaydon
    Ian Austin, Dudley North
    Adrian Bailey, West Bromwich West
    Gordon Banks, Ochil and South Perthshire
    Margaret Beckett, Derby South
    Stuart Bell, Middlesbrough
    Joe Benton, Bootle
    Clive Betts, Sheffield South East
    Hazel Blears, Salford and Eccles
    David Blunkett, Sheffield, Brightside and Hillsborough
    Russell Brown, Dumfries and Galloway
    David Cairns, Inverclyde
    Ronnie Campbell, Blyth Valley
    Jenny Chapman, Darlington
    Katy Clark, North Ayrshire and Arran
    Tom Clarke, Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill
    Ann Clwyd, Cynon Valley
    Vernon Coaker, Gedling
    David Crausby, Bolton North East
    Mary Creagh, Wakefield
    John Cryer, Leyton and Wanstead
    Jim Cunningham, Coventry South
    Margaret Curran, Glasgow East
    Simon Danczuk, Rochdale
    Ian Davidson, Glasgow South West
    Geraint Davies, Swansea West
    Jim Dobbin, Heywood and Middleton
    Thomas Docherty, Dunfermline and West Fife
    Brian H. Donohoe, Central Ayrshire
    Julie Elliott, Sunderland Central
    Louise Ellman, Liverpool, Riverside
    Natascha Engel, North East Derbyshire
    Chris Evans, Islwyn
    Jim Fitzpatrick, Poplar and Limehouse
    Robert Flello, Stoke-on-Trent South
    Caroline Flint, Don Valley
    Yvonne Fovargue, Makerfield
    Sheila Gilmore, Edinburgh East
    Pat Glass, North West Durham
    Mary Glindon, North Tyneside
    Paul Goggins, Wythenshawe and Sale East
    Tom Greatrex, Rutherglen and Hamilton West
    Kate Green, Stretford and Urmston
    Andrew Gwynne, Denton and Reddish
    David Hamilton, Midlothian
    Tom Harris, Glasgow South
    John Healey, Wentworth and Dearne
    Mark Hendrick, Preston
    Stephen Hepburn, Jarrow
    David Heyes, Ashton-under-Lyne
    Meg Hillier, Hackney South and Shoreditch
    Julie Hilling, Bolton West Joan Walley, Stoke-on-Trent North
    Margaret Hodge, Barking Dave Watts, St Helens North
    Sharon Hodgson, Washington and Sunderland West
    Jim Hood, Lanark and Hamilton East
    Kelvin Hopkins, Luton North
    George Howarth, Knowsley
    Lindsay Hoyle, Chorley
    Tristram Hunt, Stoke-on-Trent Central
    Cathy Jamieson, Kilmarnock and Loudoun
    Diana Johnson, Kingston upon Hull North
    Helen Jones, Warrington North
    Kevan Jones, North Durham
    Eric Joyce, Falkirk
    Gerald Kaufman, Manchester, Gorton
    Alan Keen, Feltham and Heston
    Ian Lavery, Wansbeck
    Ivan Lewis, Bury South
    Ian Lucas, Wrexham
    Denis MacShane, Rotherham
    Steve McCabe, Birmingham, Selly Oak
    Michael McCann, East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow
    Siobhain McDonagh, Mitcham and Morden
    Alan Meale, Mansfield
    Ian Mearns, Gateshead
    Alun Michael, Cardiff South and Penarth
    Andrew Miller, Ellesmere Port and Neston
    Austin Mitchell, Great Grimsby
    Graeme Morrice, Livingston
    Grahame Morris, Easington
    George Mudie, Leeds East
    Meg Munn, Sheffield, Heeley
    Paul Murphy, Torfaen
    Ian Murray, Edinburgh South
    Fiona O’Donnell, East Lothian
    Albert Owen, Ynys Môn
    Toby Perkins, Chesterfield
    Yasmin Qureshi, Bolton South East
    Rachel Reeves, Leeds West
    Linda Riordan, Halifax
    John Robertson, Glasgow North West
    Frank Roy, Motherwell and Wishaw
    Barry Sheerman, Huddersfield
    Jim Sheridan, Paisley and Renfrewshire North
    Gavin Shuker, Luton South
    Dennis Skinner, Bolsover
    Angela Smith, Penistone and Stocksbridge
    Nick Smith, Blaenau Gwent
    John Spellar, Warley
    Graham Stringer, Blackley and Broughton
    Gisela Stuart, Birmingham, Edgbaston
    Gerry Sutcliffe, Bradford South
    Mark Tami, Alyn and Deeside
    Emily Thornberry, Islington South and Finsbury
    Karl Turner, Kingston upon Hull East
    Derek Twigg, Halton
    Keith Vaz, Leicester East
    Chris Williamson, Derby North
    Phil Wilson, Sedgefield
    David Winnick, Walsall North
    David Wright, Telford


RT @stephentall New post: The 100-plus Labour MPs publicly opposing electoral reform

by HouseofTwitsLib on December 30, 2010 at 8:15 pm. Reply #

RT @stephentall New post: The 100-plus Labour MPs publicly opposing electoral reform

by House Of Twits on December 30, 2010 at 8:15 pm. Reply #

RT @stephentall New post: The 100-plus Labour MPs publicly opposing electoral reform

by houseoftwits on December 30, 2010 at 8:15 pm. Reply #

RT @stephentall New post: The 100-plus Labour MPs publicly opposing electoral reform

by Paul Elgood on December 30, 2010 at 8:31 pm. Reply #

Stephen, would you remind people how many Lib Dem MP’s voted against tuition fees.

Poor Nick Clegg, why didn’t he listen to his MP’s?

by matthew fox on December 31, 2010 at 4:51 pm. Reply #

Leave your comment


Required. Not published.

If you have one.