The Legg letters: the 24 Lib Dem MPs staying silent

by Stephen Tall on October 17, 2009

All this week, LDV has been compiling a full list of the findings of Sir Thomas Legg’s inquiries into MPs’ expenses as they related to the Lib Dems’ 63 MPs. We are adding to this list as information is received by us or published elsewhere.

We now have information on around two-thirds of the Parliamentary party, 39 MPs – but this still leaves 24 Lib Dem MPs whose Legg letters we don’t know about. The party’s whips office has recommended all the party’s MPs publish a statement on their websites in order to ensure the party’s representatives are as open and accountable as possible. However, after spot-checking half a dozen of the 24 ‘missing’ MPs I can see no references on any of their sites: this is a pretty unimpressive record.

LDV readers – or MPs or their staff – can contact us direct to help us establish a full, accurate and transparent record: please leave a comment in the thread to update us, or alternatively email us at .

As of Saturday, here’s the scores on the doors (which we’ll update as we get more info):

Clean bill of health letter received from Sir Thomas Legg:
24 Lib Dem MPs –
Norman Baker, John Barrett, Tom Brake, Paul Burstow, Vince Cable, Ed Davey, Lynne Featherstone, Sandra Gidley, John Hemming, Martin Horwood, David Howarth, Simon Hughes, Mark Hunter, Susan Kramer, David Laws, Greg Mulholland, John Pugh, Dan Rogerson, Paul Rowen, Matthew Taylor, Sarah Teather, Steve Webb, Stephen Williams, Jenny Willott.

Seeking further clarification from, or supplying further information to, Sir Thomas Legg:
10 Lib Dem MPs –
Colin Breed, Ming Campbell, Julia Goldsworthy, Mike Hancock, Evan Harris, Nick Harvey, Norman Lamb, Mark Oaten, Bob Russell, Jo Swinson.

Recommended to repay expenses by Sir Thomas Legg:
8 Lib Dem MPs –
Danny Alexander (£125), Annette Brooke (£238.78), Don Foster (c.£4,500), Nick Clegg (£910), Tim Farron (£235), Chris Huhne £1,152), Adrian Sanders (£691), Phil Willis (£3,230).

No information at present time:
21 Lib Dem MPs –
Alan Beith, Jeremy Browne, Malcolm Bruce, Lorely Burt, Alistair Carmichael, Andrew George, David Heath, Paul Holmes, Paul Keetch, Charles Kennedy, John Leech, Michael Moore, Lembit Öpik, Alan Reid, Willie Rennie, Robert Smith, Andrew Stunell, John Thurso, Mark Williams, Roger Williams, Richard Younger-Ross.

Enjoy reading this? Please like and share:

Leave your comment


Required. Not published.

If you have one.