The Lib Dem Legg letters – the missing 30

by Stephen Tall on October 15, 2009

On Tuesday, LDV began compiling a full list of the findings of Sir Thomas Legg’s inquiries into MPs’ expenses as they related to the Lib Dems’ 63 MPs. We are adding to this list as information is received by us or published elsewhere.

We understand the party’s whips office has recommended all Lib Dem MPs publish a statement on their website. As of Thursday, we have information on just over one-half of the Parliamentary party, 33 MPs – but this leaves 30 MPs whose Legg letters we don’t know about. Can LDV readers help crowd-source this information on ‘the missing 30′, by letting us know about those who have published statements we’ve missed, or if local papers have published articles?

Naturally MPs or their staff can contact us direct to help us establish an accurate and transparent record: please leave a comment in the thread to update us, or alternatively email us at .

As of Thursday, here’s the scores on the doors:

Clean bill of health letter received from Sir Thomas Legg:
24 Lib Dem MPs –
Norman Baker, John Barrett, Tom Brake, Paul Burstow, Vince Cable, Ed Davey, Lynne Featherstone, Sandra Gidley, John Hemming, Martin Horwood, David Howarth, Simon Hughes, Mark Hunter, Susan Kramer, David Laws, Greg Mulholland, John Pugh, Dan Rogerson, Paul Rowen, Matthew Taylor, Sarah Teather, Steve Webb, Stephen Williams, Jenny Willott.

Seeking further clarification from, or supplying further information to, Sir Thomas Legg:
7 Lib Dem MPs –
Colin Breed, Ming Campbell, Julia Goldsworthy, Evan Harris, Nick Harvey, Norman Lamb, Jo Swinson.

Recommended to repay expenses by Sir Thomas Legg:
8 Lib Dem MPs –
Danny Alexander (£125), Annette Brooke (£238.78), Don Foster (c.£4,500), Nick Clegg (£910), Tim Farron (£235), Chris Huhne £1,152), Adrian Sanders (£691), Phil Willis (£3,230).

No information at present time:
24 Lib Dem MPs –
Alan Beith, Jeremy Browne, Malcolm Bruce, Lorely Burt, Alistair Carmichael, Andrew George, Mike Hancock, David Heath, Paul Holmes, Paul Keetch, Charles Kennedy, John Leech, Michael Moore, Mark Oaten, Lembit Öpik, Alan Reid, Willie Rennie, Bob Russell, Robert Smith, Andrew Stunell, John Thurso, Mark Williams, Roger Williams, Richard Younger-Ross.

Enjoy reading this? Please like and share:

Leave your comment


Required. Not published.

If you have one.