Speaker election round 2 – and it's still Bercow or Young

by Stephen Tall on June 22, 2009

2nd round ballot result announced 7.00 pm:

John Bercow 221
Sir George Young 174
Margaret Beckett 70
Sir Alan Haselhurst 57
Sir Alan Beith 46
Ann Widdecombe 30 – ELIMINATED

With Beckett, Haslehurst and Beith having all seen their votes decline between rounds one and two, it would seem sensible for all three to withdraw to allow the clear two-horse race to be settled promptly. Let’s see if that happens…

Update: it will be a straight run-off between Bercow and Young.