The 72 Tory MPs who opposed Euro treaty referendum (and the 7 Lib Dems who supported it)

by Stephen Tall on March 3, 2008

The date: 21st April, 1993.
The subject: A consultative referendum on the Maastricht Treaty

The following 72 Tory MPs, who still sit for their party in the House of Commons, voted against a referendum:

Peter Ainsworth, David Amess, Michael Ancram, James Arbuthnot, Peter Atkinson, Tony Baldry, Henry Bellingham, Sir Paul Beresford, Tim Boswell, Peter Bottomley, Julian Brazier, Angela Browning, Simon Burns, Alistair Burt, Sir John Butterfill, James Clappison, Kenneth Clarke, Geoffrey Clifton-Brown, Sir Patrick Cormack, David Curry, David Davis, Stephen Dorrell, Alan Duncan, Nigel Evans, David Evennett, Michael Fabricant, Liam Fox, Roger Gale, Edward Garnier, Cheryl Gillan, John Greenway, John Gummer, William Hague, Oliver Heald, David Heathcoat-Amory, Charles Hendry, Douglas Hogg, John Horam, Michael Howard, Michael Jack, Robert Key, Greg Knight, Jacqui Lait, Edward Leigh, David Liddington, Peter Lilley, Peter Luff, Andrew MacKay, David Maclean, Patrick McLoughlin, Michael Mates, Andrew Mitchell, Malcolm Moss, Richard Ottaway, Jim Paice, Eric Pickles, John Redwood, Andrew Robathan, Nicholas Soames, Bob Spink, Richard Spring, Sir John Stanley, Anthony Steen, Gary Streeter, Ian Taylor, David Tredinnick, Peter Viggers, Nigel Waterson, Ann Widdecombe, David Willetts, Tim Yeo, Sir George Young.

Here’s the roll-call of the 12 Lib Dem MPs who supported a referendum on the Maastricht Treaty (sitting MPs are denoted by an *):

David Alton, Paddy Ashdown, Alan Beith*, Menzies Campbell*, Don Foster*, Nick Harvey*, Simon Hughes*, Nigel Jones, Charles Kennedy*, Liz Lynne, Matthew Taylor*, Paul Tyler

And here’s the four Lib Dem MPs who voted against a referendum in 1993:

Alex Carlile, Sir Russell Johnston, Robert Maclennan, David Steel

Hat-tip: Philip Cowley of, courtesy Ben Brogan.

Enjoy reading this? Please like and share:

No comments

Was a referendum in the 92 Conservatives manifesto? No.

Was it in the 92 Lib Dems manifesto?


by jim on March 4, 2008 at 9:15 am. Reply #

Leave your comment


Required. Not published.

If you have one.