Who’s in your Ming Dream Team?

by Stephen Tall on March 2, 2006

First: many congratulations to Ming Campbell on a convincing victory: he has a clear mandate to lead. Secondly, well done to both Chris Huhne and Simon Hughes for fighting such energetic campaigns.

When I saw Ming interviewed this afternoon, he was asked what would be his first task. To assemble his Liberal Democrat shadow cabinet, he replied. So I thought I would give him a helping hand, and have drawn up my Dream Team, listed below.

(You can compare it with the current crop here.)

Leader: Ming Campbell
Deputy Leader: Susan Kramer
Shadow Chancellor: Chris Huhne
Foreign Affairs: Nick Clegg

Home Affairs: David Laws
Party President: Simon Hughes
Policy Co-ordination: Vince Cable
Education: Ed Davey
Health: Sarah Teather
Work & Pensions: Steve Webb
ODPM: Evan Harris
Environment: Susan Kramer
Transport: Jeremy Browne
Defence: Michael Moore
International Development: Lynne Featherstone

DTI: Norman Lamb
Culture & Media: Julia Goldsworthy
Scotland: Jo Swinson
Wales: Jenny Willott
N. Ireland: Lembit Opik
Leader in Lords: Lord Ashdown

PLDP Chair: Paul Holmes
Chief Whip: Andrew Stunnell

Have I got the balance right? Have some been over-promoted and others over-looked? I’d be interested to know what folk think…